The Academy Awards

The Academy Awards or the Oscars as they are commonly known, represents the highest achievement in the movie industry. The first ever ceremony was held back in 1929 and it was more of a dinner function at the iconic Hollywood Roosvelt hotel.

There are currently 24 categories

Other categories include:

  • Academy Honorary Award
  • Academy Scientific and Technical Award
  • Gordon E. Sawyer Award
  • Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award
  • Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award


Official website



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s